Marrick Priory

View on map  

Find a trail

yorkshire.com - visit the official visitor site for Yorkshire
 

Opening Times:

The Turner Trails bench can be accessed all year round

Prices:

Access to the Turner Trails bench is free

Marrick Priory

Marrick Priory is on the north bank of the River Swale not far east of Grinton. It was founded in 1150 to house a community of Benedictine nuns but was dissolved by Henry VIII in 1540.

Turner visited Marrick Priory in 1816 when collecting sketches for illustrating 'A General History of the County of York' by Thomas Dunham Whitaker. He toured the higher dales of Yorkshire during late July and early August and visited Marrick Priory when making his way from Wensleydale to Richmond on 29 July.

 

Dogs accepted

Turner's Viewpoint

Turner sketched the view of the Priory from the east and developed it into a fine finished watercolour (Merrick Abbey, Swaledale circa 1820, Tochigi Prefectural Museum of Fine Arts, Japan, Wilton number: 569), which was engraved in Whitaker's 'History of Richmondshire,' part of the projected seven volume 'A General History of the County of York,' and published in December 1822. 

Turner's actual viewpoint is now obscured by subsequent tree growth.  When Turner made his tour of Yorkshire, England had been at war with France for over 20 years, and native trees had probably reached the lowest numbers in history.  Regrowth, whilst a benefit, has obscured many fine views that were open for sketching to Turner.

Discover The Landscape

The Turner Trails bench is located on a public footpath in a field above the Priory just before entering Steps Wood and provides views overlooking Swaledale.

Richmond Audio Tour

Follow in the footsteps of one of England's greatest artists to explore the routes that JMW Turner took around Richmond with our Turner Trails audio tours, which will work with any mp3 player or iPod, as well as mobile phones and PDAs that can play mp3 audio.

Turner's Religious Houses

Listen to Episode 4 of our Turner podcast series when Turner expert, Professor David Hill, is joined by the Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu, as they look at Turner's sketches and paintings of Yorkshire's historic religious houses.

NB: Marrick Priory is now an outdoor education and recreational centre, and open to residents only.

The Venue

Address:

Marrick Priory, Marrick, Richmond, North Yorkshire, DL11 7LD‎

Map reference: SE069978

View on map
Directions to Marrick Priory:

Head through Richmond towards Reeth via the A6108 and B6270. Just before Reeth at Fremington turn right, signposted Marrick and Hurst. After a quarter of a mile, bear right and follow for 1 mile to Marrick Priory.

There is no parking at Marrick Priory. Some parking might be possible on the road verges about 3/4 of a mile before reaching the Priory.

Advertisements

Discover Bolton Castle
Discover Sutton Bank